How learning Flutter changed my development career?

How learning Flutter changed my development career?

Table of contents

Hey Guys, if you are reading this the chance is you have been using Flutter or have started using it to make cross-platform applications. In this blog, I will be sharing the steps I took as a beginner in my college that later landed me an opportunity to work in a startup as a Flutter Dev.

  1. In the first year of my college, I had no idea of how tech works so I hopped into various technical societies at my college and ended up being a member of an App Development team at the technical club. They had their app deployed on the play store and app store which was built using the Flutter Framework.

  2. After a few months of learning Flutter and taking guidance from the seniors and the team members, I was ready to go out into the market and build some freelancing projects for the clients. But I did not know how to approach clients and earn money while building apps for them.

  3. There was a member of our Flutter team who was already working as a freelancer. So, I and my friend saw an opportunity to learn how to work with clients while working under him. At that time, we were paid around just 7-8k per 10-12 screens but, we focused on learning.

  4. After 3-4 months we left working for him and took the next step to build our seller account on different marketplaces. We used fiverr, posted our gigs and sat there hoping some client will approach us soon. After 1-2 months a client from the USA contacted us to build a mobile and a web app for his business and the budget was around 100k-150k. That was too much for guys who were working only for 10k a month.

  5. With lots of hurdles and problems the project finally got completed in under 4 months. Approximately it took 1000 hours to take the project from an idea to a real-world application.

Key learnings from this project:

  • Always trust your team member with the task assigned

  • Always try to understand the client's needs before he does (especially if he/she is a non-tech person) because somewhere down the line he/she would expect you to understand the requirements on your own without him/her explaining them in detail.

  • Always try your best to focus on delivering the best you can.

  • Learn from mistakes, you will be committing a lot.

  1. After this project was over I started looking for various internships at some startups. I submitted almost 15 applications via LinkedIn hoping I would hear from at least one of them. After two weeks I got interview calls from 3 companies. 2 were service based and 1 was product based.

  2. I was selected for 2 out of 3 and chose the product-based one. The one thing that got me going was someone somewhere wants to hire me. That someone wants you to get there to show what you can do.

Keep Fluttering !!